Tags

, ,

I was catching up on Get Rich Slowly today and J.D. shared a great yet undeniably disturbing video from YouTube called The Good Consumer.

What did I buy today? Three hats for winter weather from H&M. At $5.90 each, I thought they were a steal. But after having watched this video, it really makes me feel like a tool. Just gets me thinking… Maybe I should experiment with spending some time buying only what I need, nothing that I want. I wonder how different my everyday life would be? At the same time, however, I believe that the point is not to stop buying wants entirely, but rather make sure to use what you buy to its fullest potential. All too often, we purchase, barely use, lose interest, move on, and then purchase again when the first product is still in fine condition.

