Tags

, ,

Falling Off Bike

Sunday was my personal first day of Spring. Clear blue skies, cool weather feelings of happiness all around. G and I got our gear on and decided to take my bicycle (found via freecycle.org) out for it’s first spin. Unfortunately, I hadn’t realized that the bike’s previous owner was considerably taller than I am… I mean, who isn’t? This meant that the seat post was too high. I swung my leg over, ready to bike Riverside Park like it was my personal kingdom, only to topple over half a second later as my feet couldn’t reach the pedals.

The bike landed on my left knee.

At impact, it didn’t seem to bad so G and I traded bikes and still rode around Riverside for a bit. No inclines or crazy stunts, of course. Unfortunately, when we finished I realized that my knee cap didn’t want to stay in the same place.

I stayed on the couch with my leg propped up for the rest of the day, but the damage was done.

I saw my general doctor yesterday, who referred me to an orthopedic surgeon. That appointment’s tomorrow.

Meanwhile, I stick to traversing the City with a limp and a hop. Damn it feels good to be a gangsta.

Photo credit: KhE 龙

