Tags

, , , ,

So I’m into the “green” thing. Don’t judge. I’m not standing outside your door forcing you to take in sustainability messaging and wear eco-clothing. I’m just attempting the life mantra of “It’s the little things that count.”

Now I know the the main thing I could probably to help the environment is to move out of the concrete jungle and into a more rural area, but let’s be real… I’m city through and through. In the meantime, I’d like to believe that I’ve done some random things to help living my life in a more sustainable manner and I’m going to start documenting them on this blog. Hopefully, if you’re aiming to make small changes that count, then I’ll post something you hadn’t thought of quite yet and you can incorporate it into your life.

So get on with it, right? What’s my first official random act of green?

Eat local when possible. In the City, it’s actually pretty easy to accomplish this as long as you’re willing to go a little out of your way and walk a few blocks past your neighborhood Gristedes (is it just me or are they always dirty?) to the farmer’s market. I’ve been keeping this up for the past few weeks and hope to get well into the habit before it starts getting cold in the fall/winter and only the big markets are open.

