Tags

, , , ,

Hibiscus Tea Sorbet

Last week, while browsing through my blogs, I came across an article on FitSugar for hibiscus tea popsicles.  As an avid sweet-toother and tea lover, my heart started racing. Tea in the form of that sticky sweet and delectable dessert known as the sorbet? No combination of words could have made me happier. I immediately started looking up popsicle molds on Amazon, thinking to myself how cute and colorful my future popsicles will be. Fortunately, I held back and reminded myself that I’m trying to learn to lead a frugal lifestyle. I want to learn how to be satisfied by my needs and experiences instead of just Stuff (notice the capital “S”).

During the two moments it took for me focus on my maintaining a frugal lifestyle and working on using what I have instead of creating new unnecessary needs, I recalled a purchase I made last year: an ice cream maker. I’ve always wanted to make new and different combinations of ice creams and sorbets and bought it on a whim last summer. Have I used it yet? Absolutely not.

So instead of making the completely unneeded purchase of some popsicle molds, I decided to finally give my ice cream making machine a shot and make some hibiscus tea sorbet.

To lighten up the recipe for sorbet in general, I used agave nectar instead of sugar. The fact that the sorbet is based on tea means that the only calories in it come from the agave nectar, since the other two ingredients are just water and a tea sachet.

The result: a pink frozen delight! (and only 2 Weight Watchers points per cup of sorbet)

Hibiscus Tea Sorbet

1. Bring water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add the Tazo Passion tea sachet and allow to steep for 15 minutes.

2. Add 1/2 cup of agave nectar and frseh lemon juice to the tea.

3. Chill mixture in fridge until it reaches room temperature.

4. Put your ice cream maker to work! If you’re not into the “soft serve sorbet” then transfer sorbet to an airtight container and put in freezer to harden for at least 2 hours.

