Tags

, , , ,

Picture 1

I’m happy (and sad and nervous and delighted and excited) to announce a pretty big shift in my life:

I’ve been accepted into the digital design program with Miami Ad School.

I’ll be moving to Miami from NYC in late November. From there, I’ll have a week to prepare before my wedding. From there, Gaius and I will be honeymooning for a week in December. All this to settle in for design classes beginning January 4th, 2010.

I know.

Insanity.

But oh so exciting! I’ll be able to see my parents and brother whenever I please (a luxury that I sorely miss). I’ll get to drive around with the top down since winter weather never happens. And best of all, I’ll be able to explore a side of my intellect that I barely know as we’ve only dabbled in projects together.

So many positive changes and yet… I’ve had a great run in NYC. A solid first “real world” job working in search engine advertising with GroupM Search/Outrider (whose team of people are nothing short of amazing, by the way). Great friends. An awesome city to live in. Great food. I’ll miss the ability to never have to drive myself around. I’ll miss Central Park. I’ll miss 106 St and all that that implies (you can see the love for my block in our engagement photos).

It’s all so bittersweet. I know that now’s the time to try out new things – I haven’t started settling down (aside from finding someone with whom I want to spend the rest of my life). But you understand, I don’t have kids. Nor do I have the intention to have any for a long while. This creative possibility has been nagging me in the back of my head for a while, so I’ve taken the leap. Leaving the good stuff I know I have right now for new, uncharted territories.

We’ll see where I land.

